While supplies last, free booster seats will be given to children meeting the following height and weight criteria:
Child MUST be 40-100 pounds
Child MUST be less than 4 feet 9 inches tall
Child MUST be present
Only ONE seat PER child
Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for children. Louisiana state law requires the driver of a motor vehicle to ensure that every child under the age of thirteen years in a motor vehicle equipped with safety belts is properly secured, regardless of seating position in the vehicle. Many deaths and injuries can be prevented by properly using child safety seats.
If you would like to have your child safety seat inspected, please visit Louisiana State Police Troop F. This service is free and available 24 hours a day and 7 days a week or by appointment. This inspection will allow the parent/caregiver to speak with a technician that will show the parent/caregiver how to properly install the child restraint and ensure that the child is in the appropriate age/weight child seat.